Fuel leak seen on carb body

Engine troubles? Try here.
markv

Fuel leak seen on carb body

Post by markv »

Hi

Background: So my 410K is in Sweden, and I really need to get it back to the UK without spending too much time at it's storage location, where it's been sitting and mostly not driven for two or more years. I bought it a year ago, I'm a pinz noob, and can't leave it there for much longer.

While I was in Sweden recently I took the vehicle out for a drive around and found clutch cylinder problems now being fixed by a local garage. While discovering those problems I had the engine cover off to get to the clutch bleed valve to do a bleed. At that stage I saw dampness on a carb body, no doubt a fuel leak.

I had other stuff to do, so didn't think to try to track the leak down then.

In fact, the fuel leak didn't seem bad to me, it was just some dampness, but now I am feeling a little nervous about this, eg maybe loads of fuel was just evaporating off.... And now I'm wondering both about my fuel consumption on the way back and if the leak is indicative of a larger problem that causes the pinz to breakdown on the way back.

The carbs are setup fine as far as I can tell, they were tuned and balanced by a pinz and unimog guy maybe two years ago, the engine starts easily and the vehicle drives around just fine.

Im wondering what I can do if I had half a day or less to spend on this.

One thought is that I should, just in case it's needed, have some new fuel line with me, does anyone know the internal diameter and length needed please? But I doubt that fuel line is anything to do with the problem.

The distance I need to drive is about 250 miles / 450 km.

Any advice would be most appreciated please folks.

Thanks
Mark

I have read all posts here that seem relevant, and spotted but not read yet these

http://www.goatwerks.com/carbarticle.htm
https://porsche356registry.org/article/30
https://porsche356registry.org/article/46