Engine leaks - worth fixing or NEW MOTOR

Engine troubles? Try here.
Jerbearyukon

Engine leaks - worth fixing or NEW MOTOR

Post by Jerbearyukon »

I have some major leaks happening now to the 710k of mine....I am just wondering how hard and how expensive it is to pull the motor and fix the gaskets or just buy a new one for 2grand or so.

I am not a mechanic but have a buddy that is and I could pay him for his time but is it worth it.

How hard is it to pull the motor or do you have to take the body off...sorry maybe stupid questions for you learnerd folks but i am but a mere electrician and not all that handy in mechanics.

I have just replaced the distributor and rebuilt the carbs and it might be time to do the clutch cause it's just grabbing at the top of the clutch pedal...I HAVE NEW brake pads and rear seal coming too.

So I pretty much going to have a rebuilt truck.

Please advise if you can

Thanks jer bear
spandit

Post by spandit »

The maintenance manual gives details on how to lift the engine out, I think. You don't have to take the body off although if you have means to do so (the top half) it might make things a bit easier.

What is leaking? Oil or air/exhaust?
--

Robin

Pinzgauer 710K
MegaJolt ignition
(upgrading to MicroSquirt)
Jerbearyukon

Post by Jerbearyukon »

oil...I am going to check but it looks like I have a leak on the front near the stearing box....also out of the speedo...both sides too.

It came on all of a sudden and is leaking right onto the manifold too so It's REAL SMOKEY when you stop at a light or jjust stop period :(.

Jer
Jim LaGuardia
United States of America

Post by Jim LaGuardia »

So, once again I have to point out the detailed procedure is in the MANUAL :shock:
Engine comes out through passenger door opening, no top removal required. :o
If the main case seam is not leaking, the entire assembly can be resealed or rebuilt in place. :D