VERY BASIC timing questions and other probs to fix the Pinz

Engine troubles? Try here.
Jon_Gilbart

VERY BASIC timing questions and other probs to fix the Pinz

Post by Jon_Gilbart »

I've been reading the other threads about timing, etc., but haven't been able to solve my problems. Believe it or not, I've never set the timing on ANYTHING before. I went out to set the timing on my 710K for the first time today, thinking I had an idea what to do, but a few things came to mind that I wanted to clear up first. On a 12-volt car, no problem--I just hook the + lead from the timing light to the + battery terminal, - lead from the light to the engine ground, and put the clip around the plug wire to cylinder #1. But how would I do this w/ the 24-volt Pinz? Should I just use a separate 12-volt battery, hooking both leads to the separate battery and then only hooking the 1 clip to the #1 plug wire? I know--it's a basic question, but I've never done this before!!! Also, I opened up the distributor b/c my Pinz doesn't want to run very good anymore... It was doing pretty good for a while, always "spitting" and "popping" out of the rear carb, but otherwise was pretty good. Now, it runs pretty good for a short while, but then when it warms up a bit, it's like the power drops to next to nothing. From other posts on here, I'm thinking molex plug, red death, etc., but was also thinking that the distributor might be the problem.