710k running like crap

Engine troubles? Try here.
Recon113

710k running like crap

Post by Recon113 »

I have been able to find some related topics but here is my issue....thanks for taking the time to read and respond.
Please keep in mind I am very new to the world o Pinzgauer. I have a 1975 710k and I got it this summer. I ran ok and the only issue until recent was once it got warm when I would go to turn it off it would spit and sputter and keep running and occasionally back fire while shutting down. Now as a cold start it runs great. Once it warms up however we have a different story. It looses power while accelerating, it spits and sputters and runs like crap...if it dies or I turn it off it is almost impossible to get it to start again...the engine will shutter and on e I get it started it still runs horrible....the carbs look like they have never been touched and are "leaky"...it has the ignition upgrade and I just dolid an oil change and changed the fuel filter and a new air filter. I don't use the manual choke ever just limited in mechanical knowledge and looking to learn from some zen masters
berger
Canada

Re: 710k running like crap

Post by berger »

I am going to take a stab at this, but I too am new and still learning. :D

From my experience, it sounds like an ignition issue, but some things off the top of my head:

Timing. I had issues with the distributor jumping and causing some of the symptoms you describe. Make sure the dizzy is tight and cannot move.
Voltage at Coil. A lot of times when issues like this occur when hot, they are at the coil.
Fuel Solenoids. Make sure they are fully seated, two per carb. I had one come off once after running great (could adress some sputtering)

Hopefully the more knowledgeable guys will chime in, but those are some things you might want to check.
Ottawa, Canada
1974 710M
2007 2WD Ural Patrol
spandit

Post by spandit »