Fan belt won't tighten

Engine troubles? Try here.
Dogslovetrucks

Fan belt won't tighten

Post by Dogslovetrucks »

I feel like a newbie- wait, I am a newbie. When I got my truck this summer, I replaced the belt as part of my "new owner" refresh. 2 weeks ago, I was driving at normal (low) RPM when "BOOM!"; something lets loose. Inspection revealed that the pulley half had snapped in two. I have ordered a new pulley 1/2 from SAV and am installing with a new SAV sourced belt. Now for the problem; for the life of me, I can't get the belt to tighten. I've read the manual and every post on the topic I could but I sill have 1" plus of slack. I'm not sure I'm understanding the shim process. Right now, I everything in this order from the fan (belt, pulley 1/2, 4 shims, nut). No matter how tight I take the nut, I still have wiggle in the spacers. What am I doing wrong!? Any help is appreciated!!
Attachments
photo 1.jpg
photo 1.jpg (23.67 KiB) Viewed 7386 times
76 710K
Andre
United States of America

Re: Fan belt won't tighten

Post by Andre »

after you install the nut(with all 4 spacer shims on the outside of the pulley half, do you rotate the motor as you tighten? By rotating the motor while tightening, it allows the belt to "walk" to the outer most part of the pulley half, thus tightening the belt.

If you still have room to tighten and the belt is already taught, then move a shim or two to the inside of the pulley half. If you still have slack, either something is missing or you have too long of a belt.
Fat Fabrications
2993 FM 1647
Winnsboro, TX. 75494
fatfabrications@yahoo.com
(903) 365-2332 shop
(951) 765-7224 mobile
Facebook.com/dokapinz6x6
Www.fatfabrications.com
Dogslovetrucks

Post by Dogslovetrucks »

Thanks for they reply- I have rotated the fan while tightening to no avail. Belt is an SAV (correct size)- to confirm, for maximum tightness, where should my shims be (be graphic in your explaination- I'm pretty thick).
76 710K
TechMOGogy
Canada