Breaker #12 Popping

Dedicated to the memory and knowledge shared by Jim Mettler - All things relating to the flow of electrons in a Pinz.
u352

Breaker #12 Popping

Post by u352 »

I have zero experience with breakers but my #12 keeps popping and it seems to affect my high beams. Ive looked at the electrical diagrams but would like to know if anyone else has dealt wit this issue or could give me some words of wisdom to help me solve the problem.
pcolette
United States of America

Breaker #12

Post by pcolette »

#12 is for the:
headlight relay, emergency flasher relay, diff/4x4 indicator lights

I'd check to see if the hot lead to the locker indicator lights has come loose or is worn thru. It is always live (+24v) so if it touches ground it will pop the breaker.

Paul
Paul C.
_________
'73 Swiss 710M
'89 Puch 230GE
undysworld
Norway

Post by undysworld »

I've also seen the gasket around the headlight get brittle and broken and allow water to get in, which lead to poor connections within the headlights. Just a thought if they cause issues.
westernair
United States of America

Re: Breaker #12 Popping

Post by westernair »

I too am now having number 12 issues. Started today while just driving around. When it first happend I would reset it and it would stay working for a few minutes, then after getting home I poped the front dash pannel and looked over the wires I could see for breaks or disconnections. I had installed a wiper delay just yesterday and figured I might have pulled a wire loose. I didn't find anything obvious but fear they are related. Now after looking things over, as soon as I reset the breaker and the key is on, the breaker imediatly trips. Any ideas of what I should look at?
I did check the locker light wires, everything looks good there.
Shawn

62 haffy Bantam
61 haffy 4 door

72 710K - Sold
73 712M - Sold
u352

Post by u352 »