My latest project - Disc Brakes for a 710/712

Issues with shocks/springs, tires, steering box, stopping, etc.
Haf-e
United States of America

My latest project - Disc Brakes for a 710/712

Post by Haf-e »

Its been too quiet on this site lately - so I thought it was time to show the project I've been working on for the last two years - a disc brake conversion for my Pinzgauer 710M.

The goal of the project was to make a "bolt-on" system which requires zero machining of the original Pinz parts - allowing for easier installation and replacement parts and, hopefully, a lower cost. Another goal was to also duplicate the Pinzgauer TD 716/718 disc brake setup as much as possible - same disc diameter and same caliper arrangement (i.e. dual calipers in front / single on rear) but using an easier to source, off-the-shelf caliper. Ideally the setup would work with the stock master cylinder also.

Well - the good news is that I was able to achieve all of those goals - but with one change - I had to go away from the stock Pingauer steel wheels and switched to steel wheels from a MB Sprinter (which are very similar to the Pinzgauer TD stock wheels). It should be possible to use Ford Transit or even Dodge Promaster wheels as well - there is an adapter / spacer included which can allow for either the stock 5x160 pattern or a 5x130 pattern (or possibly other 5x patterns).

The new brakes work extremely well. Was able to lock up all four wheels on dry asphalt pavement and they have great modulation ability - using the stock master brake cylinder.

Here is a photo of the front installation:
Front Discs - small.jpg
Front Discs - small.jpg (467.89 KiB) Viewed 7167 times
The calipers are Wilwood DynaPro's - which are now finally offered with dust boots which I consider a requirement for off-road use.

The new wheels allow the use of the G-Wagen center caps!
Rear Wheel with Disc Brake.jpg
Rear Wheel with Disc Brake.jpg (429.91 KiB) Viewed 7167 times