NOOB with some questions

Old forum posts ending on Oct 21 '09

Moderator: TechMOGogy

yaknowthatguy
United States of America

NOOB with some questions

Post by yaknowthatguy »

Greetings everyone! I am buying a 71 710 model pinzy and am WAY stoked on it.

I am BRAND new to Pinzies, so have a few questions.

Anybody done a power steering conversion? Suggestions on doing one?

Any specific tires that people like? I'll be joining Rocky Mountain Pinzgauers, and the club has some deals there....but am open to suggestions from people who've had them for a while.

I may, ultimately, be interested in doing a frame-off resto. Any big hints on this? Besides get the tech manual (coming with mine).

Has anyone relocated the handles for t-case and lockers? Or converted them to electric? Not that I'm PLANNING to, but am curious. I need to rig up a place for ham radio equipment in the cab, so will probably build a tray over the windshield for this purpose....but am just spitballing until I have the 710 in my driveway.

Thanks to all for their expertise and suggestions, I think this is going to be a lot of fun :)
Jim LaGuardia
United States of America

Post by Jim LaGuardia »

If you can't steer it the way it is, you may as well get an SUV :P
Power steering can be done, but it is dangerous and expensive to do properly.
Best suggestion is go and drive one before figuring out how to modify it.
Cheers, Jim LaGuardia
http://smg.photobucket.com/albums/v510/Goatwerks/
"Arch Magus of Machines."
NC_Mog

Post by NC_Mog »

x2. Additionally on steering, if yours still has the stock tires, replace them with radials of your choice. The steering effort drops noticably. Otherwise, stock steering effort is fine. Just don't lock your thumbs around the steering wheel.
Kimball
1979 712M
Profpinz
Australia

Post by Profpinz »

I love my PS but it took a lot of time and effort to design and build the system (and NO I don't supply kits :D )

Full details at: