Help buying a Pinz 712

All things not relating to the other forums.
Sam Fisher

Help buying a Pinz 712

Post by Sam Fisher »

Hello,

I'm new to the Pinz forum and I already need some help. I was looking at a 1982 Pinz 712 for sale. I'm a less than average wrench....so I was wondering if anyone has a short list of things to look for when I check this thing out. It has about 25,000 miles...and its going for $19,500.

2nd question: Do i need to be better than just being able to change fluids......to buy a truck like this?

Thanks,
Mike

oh ya....I know next to nothing about a Pinzgauer, other than reading info on the forum and researching the net. My wife thinks I'm a little off....but she said she'll support my middle age crisis! lol ...so I got that going for me!
So others may live.
undysworld
Norway

Post by undysworld »

Hi Mike,

Welcome. And a double welcome just because you're nearby.

There have been a few posts regarding prepurchase checklists. Try a search, and if I can find something I'll post it to you.

If you'd like to see/drive a few others just to get a comparison, there are several up near Madison area. Be happy to help you make arrangements to do this. If you know next to nothing about them, then this is a really good idea.

2nd question: Nooo...., but. It probably helps to be at least somewhat mechanically knowledgeable. If you've got any german-car mechanics around, and I'm sure you do in Chicago, they can likely do any of the work. But there are some special tools that they'd need even then. They'd also need the 2 shop manuals. But that said, it's a relatively easy vehicle to work on, from my experiences.

A low-miles, good condition truck might well not need much for repairs for quite a while. But even the fluid changing is a bit of effort - the 712 has 11 gearboxes to change out. Again, any shop can do it for you. Otherwise you'd best be able to get some enjoyment out of doing a little wrenching.